Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Fight the Holiday Gain Without the Cost of a Gym

by: Lux Fitness Chick, Christina Ward 

I gladly proclaim that the holidays are quickly approaching!  I love the holiday season, no matter how much those around me moan and groan.  Love the fall colors, love the dinner with family and friends, love the Christmas music and the shopping!  I also love the food, snacks, cookies, and goodies that go hand-in-hand with the holiday season. Yummy! What I don’t love are the results of all those goodies.  Ugg, who does? Weight gain, bloating, and just feeling plain old guilty.  

Well, this holiday season does not have to take its toll on your body.  You are in control.  You can maintain your weight and even lose weight during this holiday season…the bonus? NO cost to you!  Huh?!  What? “I don’t have to join a gym at $35++ a month?”  Sit down…let’s talk.

I have been in the fitness arena, professionally, for over 15 years and personally, all of my life.  I have only ever belonged to gyms, ever.  I don’t like gyms, they are sticky, gooey, yuck.  I have always worked out in a gymnasium, at the beach, at the park, in my home, and many other places, but not in a gym.  How much have you spent on the gym?  Have you spent hundreds?  Have you gone to that gym you are paying for on a regular basis?  I hope so, but I encourage you to consider using your local FREE resources. Your home, the beach, the park, your office, a local track, downtown, there are many FREE choices out there to serve as your gym and I encourage you to utilize them.

“Well, don’t I need equipment?”  Absolutely NOT!  In fact, I would encourage just the opposite.  The body is an amazing tool.  Gravity is also our friend.  Let’s use these two resources in an effective, efficient manner that results in an excellent workout for both mind and body.

Here are ten exercises that could provide anyone from novice to expert with a workout every day of the year for the next 100 years.

(There are numerous variations to each of these exercises to accommodate any level of exerciser.)

1. Push-ups

2. Dips

3. Squats

4. Lunges

5. Jumping jacks

6. Shoulder Press

7. Should Raises

8. Calf Raises

9. Crunches

10. Walking

There are many ways to learn how to do these exercises and do them well.

YOUTube is an excellent resource for videos. (http://youtu.be/bHcUBo7axlE)

 There are also numerous free FB pages and websites devoted to teaching you how to perform various exercises such as:  Http://facebook.com/trainersonthego

Many personal trainers are also happy to answer a few questions at a time at no cost.

There is no reason at any time that a person has to spend money to get fit.  I encourage you to get to know your neighborhood park and your body and enjoy a terrific, FREE workout without barely leaving home.

Christina Ward, Personal Trainer

http://sweetmotivation.com

http://facebook.com/sweetmotivation

http://trainersonthego.com

