Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Emily’s Homemade Reeses Peanut Butter Cups  & Chocolate Lollipops

 by: Emily, age 11

Hi. It’s me again, Emmy. I had a birthday since my last cooking blog. With Halloween coming, I wanted to make some sweet treats. I have a bunch of yummy recipes that are easy for kids or adults. Mama said maybe I should make a healthy, easy dinner recipe for my cooking blog today. But I told her I wanted to make CANDY! Save the healthy stuff for later. Yawn.

Mama ordered me a whole bunch of kid’s cooking utensils that are the perfect size for my small hands!  I can’t wait. Plus, I got a red, monogrammed apron with my name on it. Does she think I’m going to forget my name?

Anyway, here is the Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Recipe:

1 cup peanut butter (I added a little more cuz I like peanut butter)
3/4 cup margarine or butter
1 pound of confectioners sugar (about 4 cups, but 3 cups worked better for us)
1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (24 oz) you can cut that back a little, cuz we had extra left over.

Mix the first four ingredients in a bowl. Hands work best for this part. Yay! Because I love to stick my hands in squishy things. Make sure your hands are super duper clean though. Always wash them first. Don’t let you doggie lick your fingers. Mine tries to.

The recipe says to press all of this stuff into a into a 9X9 cake pan. But mama and me pressed it into these fun candy molds by Wilton. They are round and look like flowers.

 

Next, melt the bag of chocolate chips over very low heat or microwave until melted (get an adult’s help with this part ok?)

Spread melted chocolate over the peanut butter mixture. Dip your fingers into the bowl after it’s all poured out and lick the chocolate. It’s yummy. I got chocolate in my hair. We spread the chocolate over the little round cups like this.

Chill in the refrigerator or freeze in the freezer (whichever you like). We froze ours for a few hours and they came out so good! Have them with a glass of milk!

 

Ta-Da! Two layers: peanut butter & chocolate Reeses flowers….

Next, we made White Chocolate Lollipops, again using Wilton candy molds, they came with these sticks and plastic wrappers so they can be given as gifts later.

 

We used the red and white, round candy melts. MORE sugar! Yay! Mama isn’t pleased. Then we put them in a small plastic bag and snipped the end, so we could squeeze out the melted chocolate into the molds.

(Melt them in the micro and then squeeze)

 

Lay the sticks into the chocolate, and then refrigerate or freeze them.

When they are fully hard, pop them out of the molds and you have yummy chocolate lollipops! Ok, so I am done now. I want to go play my Wii.

 

Love, Emily x x

